E-Mail Address: Password:
AICE Mailing List

Name:

Email:

We Respect Your Email Privacy

Next Pre-Licensing Auto/RV/Mobile Home Dealer-Broker Courses

Attention Florida RV and Mobile Home Dealers!

It's time to renew your license. Don't delay and risk having your license lapse. At the request of the Florida DMV, renewal information is provided below. We wish you great success in your new license year!


Renewal time again for Mobile Home and Recreational Vehicle Dealers! The Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles reminds Mobile Home and Recreational Vehicle Dealer dealers that now is the time to renew your dealer license for licensing period 10/1/2015-9/30/2016. Renewal applications, fees and required documents must be filed to ensure the timely renewal of your motor vehicle dealer’s license.

On July 14, 2015, the Department e-mailed renewal notices and applications to all 1088 licensed Mobile Home and Recreational Vehicle Dealers. A completed renewal application form (HSMV 86720, “Renewal Application for Motor Vehicle, Mobile Home, or Recreational Vehicle Dealers”), required documents and fee must be submitted to the local Regional Office responsible for your dealership. This form is available on the Department’s website at http://www.flhsmv.gov/html/forms.html. The Regional Office list can be accessed at http://www.flhsmv.gov/dmv/BUR_Field_Ops_Address.pdf and the Dealer Training Schools at http://www.flhsmv.gov/dmv/L_Dealer_Trng_Sch.pdf.

Dealers were also advised on Biennial Renewal Option: House Bill 7125 passed giving dealers the option for biennial renewal of their license. This law went into effect on July 1, 2013. The Renewal form HSMV 86720 will allow for the option of renewing for a two-year period.

Please Note: At this time, only the primary locations for mobile home dealers and brokers (DH, BH) are eligible for the biennial renewal option. Supplemental locations may not be issued a biennial license renewal as this was not included in the legislature.

The following documents are required with the renewal application for Mobile Home Dealers and Mobile Home Brokers (DH and BH)
For Primary Location:
• Completed license renewal application form HSMV 86720. This form can also be accessed at http://www.flhsmv.gov/dmv/forms/BFO/86720.pdf.
• $140 annual renewal fee for the primary location. If the completed application, all required documents, and fee are not received for the primary location by September 30th, a $200 delinquent fee is due for a total renewal fee of $340. Checks must be made payable to DHSMV.
• $280 biennial license renewal fee if you are opting for a biennial (two years) renewal.­Checks must be made payable to DHSMV.
• An original surety bond, original irrevocable letter of credit, or original continuation certificate in the amount of $25,000 must be submitted for mobile homes dealers with four or fewer supplemental locations. The Dealership's Principal must sign the surety bond and Irrevocable Letter of Credit. Surety bond form HSMV 86018 can be downloaded from the Department’s website at http://flhsmv.gov/dmv/forms/BFO/86018.pdf and Irrevocable Letter of Credit form­HSMV 86058 can be downloaded from the Department’s website at­http://flhsmv.gov/dmv/forms/BFO/86058.pdf.

Please Note: Mobile home dealers with more than four supplemental locations must submit an original surety bond, original irrevocable letter of credit, or original continuation certificate in the amount of $50,000.

• Mobile home dealers and mobile home brokers selling recreational vehicles must submit proof of garage liability insurance which must include at a minimum, $25,000 combined single limit liability coverage including bodily injury and property damage protection and $10,000 personal injury protection. Certificate of garage liability insurance signed by the garage liability insurance agent is required.
• Copy of certification from the Division of Corporation showing current registration of the business and fictitious name(s) (on-line access at www.sunbiz.org).
Supplemental Location:
• Completed license renewal application form HSMV 86720 including current business e-mail address.
• $50 annual renewal fee.
• A copy of the surety bond, irrevocable letter of credit, or continuation certificate that was filed with the renewal of the primary lot.

The following documents are required with the renewal application for Recreational Vehicle Dealers (RV and RU)

For Primary Location:
• Completed license renewal application form HSMV 86720.
• $140 annual renewal fee for the primary location. If the completed application, all required documents, and fee are not received for the primary location by September 30th, a $200 delinquent fee is due for a total renewal fee of $340. Checks must be made payable to DHSMV.
• $280 biennial license renewal fee if you are opting for a biennial (two years) renewal.­Checks must be made payable to DHSMV.
• An original surety bond or original continuation certificate in the amount of $10,000 must be submitted for recreational vehicles dealers with four or fewer supplemental locations.

Please note: Recreational vehicle dealers with more than four supplemental locations must submit an original surety bond or original continuation certificate in the amount of $20,000.­Surety bond form 86019 can be downloaded from the Department’s website at http://flhsmv.gov/dmv/forms/BFO/86019.pdf.

• A copy of garage liability insurance coverage in the form of a garage liability insurance certificate. This certificate must be signed by the insurance agent and show a minimum of $25,000 combined single limit liability coverage, which includes bodily injury, property damage protection. The coverage must include $10,000 for personal injury protection
• Copy of certification from the Division of Corporations showing current registration of the business and fictitious name(s) (on-line access at www.sunbiz.org).

Supplemental Location:
• Completed license renewal application form HSMV 86720 including current business e-mail address.
• $50 annual renewal fee.
• A copy of the surety bond, irrevocable letter of credit, or continuation certificate that was filed with the renewal of the primary lot.
• A copy of the garage liability insurance certificate that was filed with the renewal of the primary location.

The Department has moved to electronic communication of important notices, renewals and legislative changes to licensed dealers statewide. Therefore, it is important for you to update your renewal application with a current business e-mail address for your dealership. Please avoid using internet addresses or e-mail addresses of your staff on the application as notices may not reach your dealership if the staff member no longer works at the dealership. You should immediately notify the Regional Office responsible for your dealership of any changes in your business e-mail address.

To ensure the proper processing of your renewal, please submit your completed renewal application, required documents and fee to the regional office. Please do not submit your application to Tallahassee. All checks must be made payable to DHSMV.
Valuable information on licensing procedures and requirements is available on our website at http://www.flhsmv.gov/html/titlinf.html under “Dealer, Manufacturer, Distributor and Importer Information. For assistance in locating one of our Regional Offices, please see http://www.flhsmv.gov/dmv/BUR_Field_Ops_Address.pdf. Your local Regional Office will be available to assist you from 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday.

The Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles salutes all of our industry partners, and we greatly appreciate your assistance and cooperation in the timely renewal of your dealer license.

­

­

­

­

­

Industry News

Keep up with what is happening in the industry.
Automotive News
Read Article >

HOW PREPARED ARE YOU?

By

S. Allen Monello, D.P.A.

During the past 30 days, I had to make contact with two federal agencies on behalf of clients. Both contacts involved the need for clarification on several federal laws that dealers and finance companies must comply with. During my research and while reading industry publications I found that several federal agencies are once again active in either taking enforcement actions against dealers and finance companies or they are in the process of establishing more regulations.

A few examples include the Federal Trade Commission (FTC) going after a dealership in Arkansas for failing to display Buyers Guides. Civil fine:­ $90,000. During “Operation Ruse Control” the FTC went after several dealerships and finance companies with civil and criminal charges concerning deceptive advertising, automotive loan application fraud, odometer fraud, deceptive add-on fees, and deceptive marketing of car title loans.

­

The IRS went after an Ohio dealer for money laundering due to his failure to file Form 8300 upon receiving more than $10,000 in cash, or filing a false currency transaction report. He faces 20 years in prison.

­

With regard to new federal regulations two are pending. The Consumer Financial Protection Bureau is in the process of finalizing its rule that allows it to regulate auto finance companies that provide financing and/or leasing for automobiles (excludes RVs) in the amount of 10,000 or more originations per year. And the FTC is proposing a rule that allows auto dealers to provide privacy notices to customers online.

If anyone believes that the automotive industry isn’t regulated enough, they just have no idea of the number of laws that auto dealers and finance companies must comply with. Just out of curiosity, I decided to make a list (This list is not complete!) of the federal laws that dealers and lenders must comply with. Keep in mind, this list does not include state regulations. How many do you recognize?

Adverse Action Notice ­--­Cash Reporting (IRS Form 8300)

Credit Practices Rule --­Deceptive and Unfair Trade Practices

Disposal Rule --­EPA Requirements

Fair and Accurate Credit Transactions Act (FACT Act)

Fair Debt Collection Practices Act --­Foreign Titled Trades

Labor and Employment Laws --­Magnuson-Moss Warranty Act

Odometer Laws --­Office of Foreign Assets Control Check (OFAC)

Privacy Notice (Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act) --­Red Flags Rule

Regulation M --­Regulation Z

Risk-Based Pricing Notice --­Safeguards Rule

Truth in Advertising --­Truth in Lending Act --­Used Car Rule (Buyers Guide)

If you are aware of all of these regulations and your dealership or finance company is complying with all that are applicable to you, then you are way ahead of many. If there are some, or many, that you are not familiar with, you’ll want to become familiar with them as soon as possible. Because you never know when the feds will come knocking on your door!


S. Allen Monello, D.P.A. is the Managing Member of the Automotive Industry Center for Excellence, LLC. Allen provides compliance consulting and training programs to dealerships. He can be reached by email at Allen@TheAICE.com or by phone at (727) 623-9075.


AICE Mailing List

To receive notification of any new training programs offered and news updates, and to receive a discount of $5.00 off each online training program, please sign up using the "AICE Mailing List" form on the right below the menu. You may unsubscribe at any time.

Additional Resources

Register for AICE Online Training Courses Now!

Register for In-Person Motor Vehicle Dealer Pre-Licensing Courses.­ Register on our secure website or call toll free 1-866-930-4577.

Click Here To See Our Training Schedule By Month And Location

­

­

Automotive Industry Center for Excellence, LLC (AICE)
1497 Main Street, Suite 344
Dunedin, FL 34698
Phone (727) 623-9075
Registration Line:
1-866-930-4577